Author Topic: Wireless not working  (Read 3024 times)

jenom

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Wireless not working
« on: April 12, 2016, 11:08:01 PM »
wicd on top right gave me "scanning....no wireless network find"
than ollowed instructions on "how to"
ifconfig -a
sudo su
ceni

still not working, below is my terminal output ,

vsido@vsido:~$ ifconfig -a
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.16  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::21e:37ff:fe82:ac72  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:1e:37:82:ac:72  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 96681  bytes 133974510 (127.7 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 58021  bytes 5174844 (4.9 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 20  memory 0xfe000000-fe020000 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 553  bytes 55150 (53.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 553  bytes 55150 (53.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.5.17  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.5.255
        inet6 fe80::21d:e0ff:fe44:74c7  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:1d:e0:44:74:c7  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 683  bytes 231565 (226.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 544  bytes 67637 (66.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

vsido@vsido:~$

   
root@vsido:/home/vsido# ceni
Configuring interface wlan0=wlan0 (inet)
/bin/run-parts --exit-on-error --verbose /etc/network/if-pre-up.d
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/ethtool
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wireless-tools
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wpasupplicant
wpa_supplicant: wpa-driver nl80211,wext (default)
wpa_supplicant: /sbin/wpa_supplicant -s -B -P /run/wpa_supplicant.wlan0.pid -i wlan0 -D nl80211,wext -C /run/wpa_supplicant
Starting /sbin/wpa_supplicant...
wpa_supplicant: creating sendsigs omission pidfile: /run/sendsigs.omit.d/wpasupplicant.wpa_supplicant.wlan0.pid
wpa_supplicant: ctrl_interface socket located at /run/wpa_supplicant/wlan0
wpa_supplicant: configuring network block -- 0
wpa_supplicant: wpa-ssid "D-LINK" -- OK
wpa_supplicant: wpa-key-mgmt NONE -- OK
wpa_supplicant: wpa-wep-key0 ***** -- OK
wpa_supplicant: wpa-wep-tx-keyidx 0 -- OK
wpa_supplicant: enabling network block 0 -- OK

/sbin/dhclient -v -pf /run/dhclient.wlan0.pid -lf /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.wlan0.leases -I -df /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient6.wlan0.leases wlan0    
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.3.3
Copyright 2004-2015 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:1d:e0:44:74:c7
Sending on   LPF/wlan0/00:1d:e0:44:74:c7
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.5.17 on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPOFFER of 192.168.5.17 from 192.168.5.1
DHCPACK of 192.168.5.17 from 192.168.5.1
bound to 192.168.5.17 -- renewal in 18793 seconds.
/bin/run-parts --exit-on-error --verbose /etc/network/if-up.d
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/avahi-autoipd
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/avahi-daemon
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/ethtool
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/mountnfs
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/ntpdate
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/upstart
run-parts: executing /etc/network/if-up.d/wpasupplicant

Press Enter key to continue ...

any suggestion ?
thanks!





VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4187
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 11:15:12 PM »
Doesn't this indicate that wlan0 got an IP and that it is setup correctly?

Code: [Select]
DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.5.17 on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
What part of the wireless is not working?

Within Ceni and WICD, have you gone in and put in any wifi passwords that maybe needed?

Welcome to VSIDO, we will get this worked out...

 :)
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

jenom

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 11:19:54 PM »
managed to figure it out
did not selected "Class=auto" , so it stayed on default "allow-hotplug"
can the default on Class changed to "auto" in future releases ?
WICD is totally useless....I am connected to WIFI and it is working, and WICD still shows "not connected"
almost all Linux distros have a "Network Manager" in Settings, where wireless network can be added and configured
it would make every user (with a laptop) life easier!

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4187
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2016, 11:28:25 PM »
WICD works as well as Network Manager and as far as I know people are using it without issue

Network Manager is a pig that requires a major amount of overhead to install

Ceni works as long as it is given proper setup and configuration options

I kind of like the idea we remain unlike most Distros
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

jenom

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2016, 03:17:33 AM »
fortunately my wifi adapter was detected and firmware was there too (iwlwifi)
do not know what's wrong with WICD here, maybe going to uninstall/reinstall and see what happens
thanks for your reply

jenom

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2016, 05:37:19 PM »
after reading many posts on different forums, finally discovered what was MY issue with WICD
when I go to top-right corner of the screen to WICD, all I can find there:
--Connect
--Connection Info
--Quit

However, after reading more about WICD, I started it from the menu and from root terminal, and now I have the "arrow" and options to set up my connection in preferences.
That WICD icon on the top-right corner is very misleading, it is just a "notification"
I did not accepted to find a "taskbar" at the top-right corner, however the "speaker" is there for the volume, so after all it looks like somebody wanted to build up a "taskbar" from there.
Although Fluxbox is fast, dark theme+icons+fonts looks good, --it is so 2001 in 2016 !---adding a more functional+familiar XFCE4 !

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1633
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2016, 07:02:39 PM »
Something tells me in 2001 you could not install any Linux distro in under 4 minutes!  As to looking 'old', you should really check out the "Artwork & Screenshots" thread here on the forums.  Everything from the minimalist look to full out bling filled eye candy.  And what they all 'mostly' have in common;  Fluxbox!

Tis easy to bling and bloat out a distro.  There are a lot of choices out there as well.  VSIDO is a one of a kind!!!  AAMOF, we started off with XFCE4 as the default WM.  At the time we also offered Openbox as a choice.  So, you got to choose between two separate WM's on login.  Then we discovered Fluxbox, and most of us have never looked back...

Part of the joy of a distro like VSIDO, is the tight knit community we have here, and then there is the distro itself.  A full and complete Linux distro that will still fit on a single CD!!!  Everything else is just an "apt-get" away.  Sweetness indeed...
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

PackRat

  • Posts: 2218
    • View Profile
    • PackRat configs on github
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2016, 07:14:56 PM »
Quote
I did not accepted to find a "taskbar" at the top-right corner, however the "speaker" is there for the volume, so after all it looks like somebody wanted to build up a "taskbar" from there.

That is the system tray (tint2 configured to be system tray only). You should have been able to connect to your wireless network from the wicd tray icon.

The taskbar is at the bottom of the screen - tint2 with launchers and taskbar.

How did you ultimately connect to your wireless? Based on your previous posts, it looks like you ran ceni and created the /etc/network/interfaces file and then had to do some manual editing to get it to work. Is that correct? If so, you should note that ceni, wicd, and network manager are incompatible with one another. Installing Xfce4 at this point may bring network manager in as a dependency which will conflict with either ceni or wicd and shut down your networking. Just a heads up as you proceed.
I am tired of talk that comes to nothing.
-- Chief Joseph

...the sun, the darkness, the winds are all listening to what we have to say.
-- Geronimo

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4187
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: Wireless not working
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2016, 07:21:06 PM »
Quote
I did not accepted to find a "taskbar" at the top-right corner, however the "speaker" is there for the volume, so after all it looks like somebody wanted to build up a "taskbar" from there.

That is the system tray (tint2 configured to be system tray only). You should have been able to connect to your wireless network from the wicd tray icon.

The taskbar is at the bottom of the screen - tint2 with launchers and taskbar.

How did you ultimately connect to your wireless? Based on your previous posts, it looks like you ran ceni and created the /etc/network/interfaces file and then had to do some manual editing to get it to work. Is that correct? If so, you should note that ceni, wicd, and network manager are incompatible with one another. Installing Xfce4 at this point may bring network manager in as a dependency which will conflict with either ceni or wicd and shut down your networking. Just a heads up as you proceed.

Thanks for clarifying that

Jedi, thank you for the background history
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO