Author Topic: intel / ucode error  (Read 7181 times)

zewolfe

  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
intel / ucode error
« on: December 23, 2013, 08:05:39 PM »
Hi everyone:

I am managing to find my way around everything pretty well - even my broadcom wi-fi works! - but I am seeing this in dmesg:
Code: [Select]
platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-17-0a (not found?)

I am using the following kernel
Code: [Select]
Linux version 3.11-2-amd64
BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64

This is a Dell Inc. Inspiron 1545 - Dual core processor
Code: [Select]
Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU       
T4300  @ 2.10GHz
microcode : 0xa07
cpu MHz : 1200.000
cache size : 1024 KB
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov
pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc
arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2
ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm xsave lahf_lm dtherm
bogomips : 4189.71
clflush size : 64

Any ideas on how to resolve this?

Thanks in advance,
Serge


VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4220
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 08:14:34 PM »
Hey zewolfe,

Is it necessarily a problem if everything is working?   ;)

I did a search regarding that error code and saw that it was an issue with kernel 3.9.1 that was resolved back in July.  It was also an issue with some of the RC's of 3.11

I am curios if you were to update to the 3.12 kernel would the issue resolve...

Let me know what you find
VSIDO      VSIDO FB       

    I dev VSIDO

PackRat

  • Posts: 2282
    • View Profile
    • PackRat configs on github
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 11:31:10 PM »
@zewolfe -

start synaptic and check if the following are installed :

intel-microde
iucode-tool

I had a similar error on my intel HP and, as I recall, had to install either one or both of those to clear it. I think they are both nonfree so not part of a default debian install.
I am tired of talk that comes to nothing.
-- Chief Joseph

...the sun, the darkness, the winds are all listening to what we have to say.
-- Geronimo

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4220
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2013, 04:19:23 AM »
Thanks for that PackRat, I will add both of those to the packages on the next ISO release

Happy Holiday!  :)
VSIDO      VSIDO FB       

    I dev VSIDO

statmonkey

  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2013, 07:39:05 AM »
FWIW
I have the same error and I am on:
Linux version 3.12-1-amd64 (debian-kernel@lists.debian.org) (gcc version 4.8.2 (Debian 4.8.2-7)

I have the latest versions of intel-microcode and the iucode-tool which were part of my latest install (yesterday - at least I don't remember installing them).  Not sure that is a fix.  I haven't looked at this but one but if there is indeed a fix out there I am sure we can find it.

zewolfe

  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2013, 07:52:45 AM »
The 3.12.1 kernel has fixed it for me:

Code: [Select]
platform microcode: firmware: direct-loading firmware intel-ucode/06-17-0a
[    9.270310] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa07
[    9.272008] microcode: CPU0 updated to revision 0xa0b, date = 2010-09-28
[    9.276940] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa07
[    9.276989] platform microcode: firmware: direct-loading firmware intel-ucode/06-17-0a
[    9.277015] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa07
[    9.280311] microcode: CPU1 updated to revision 0xa0b, date = 2010-09-28
[    9.283387] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

Thanks for all the help!

statmonkey

  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2013, 08:02:16 AM »
Hmm.  Did you do anything besides upgrade the kernel?  Now this is going to drive me crazy.  :'(
Quote
0.617008] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x206d7, pf=0x4, revision=0x705
[    0.617024] platform microcode: firmware: failed to load intel-ucode/06-2d-07 (-2)
[    0.634169] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x206d7, pf=0x4, revision=0x705
[    0.634179] platform microcode: firmware: failed to load intel-ucode/06-2d-07 (-2)
[    0.634425] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x206d7, pf=0x4, revision=0x705
[    0.634434] platform microcode: firmware: failed to load intel-ucode/06-2d-07 (-2)
[    0.634698] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x206d7, pf=0x4, revision=0x705
[    0.634706] platform microcode: firmware: failed to load intel-ucode/06-2d-07 (-2)

etc. for all the cpu's.  I did just see that it should be fixed in this kernel but my system doesn't seem to be. 

hakerdefo

  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
    • Looking at Linux through the Windows of Life
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 09:26:44 AM »
May be the following will shed some more light,
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=699412
Cheers.
You Can't Always Git What You Want

statmonkey

  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: intel / ucode error
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2013, 06:45:16 PM »
thanks hakerdefo I had just read that thread and was coming here to post it.  Summary for others. 
  • Intel sucks, they aren't shipping/sharing their code for the Xeon's
  • there is no fix, so if you have these errors do nothing and pray that Intel decides to bless us with corrected code
  • Merry Christmas, watch the original Die Hard, look at your PC and yell Yippee Kaiyea Intel #@"