Author Topic: inxi root requirement  (Read 17153 times)

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2013, 07:27:03 PM »
OK, what is it that you want archey to do at the end of bashrc? For what reason?

I need your thought process on this one
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1625
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2013, 07:28:35 PM »
Not a thing actually.  It's there because I thought it had to be in order for terminal to display the pretty debian graphic with the sys info stuff...
I can definitely remove it if you want me to test or something...
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2013, 07:34:00 PM »
All you have to do is run archey from terminal to get it to run...

Yes, having it there has an impact on .bashrc and I would remove it

Now, to solve this, I can add a startup function in Xfce to run

Code: [Select]
export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"
on login

One other thing I would like confirmed is whether or not this command is needed after one time being run.. Meaning does a shutdown and restart keep this

And it still makes no sense at all why adding something that is already there is needed to be added again
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1625
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2013, 07:39:09 PM »
jed@jedsdesk:~$ export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"
jed@jedsdesk:~$ inxi -F
Error No: 1 - You must be root to run this script!
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1625
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2013, 07:39:51 PM »
also, that is after removing archey from .bashrc
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

Sector11

  • Posts: 870
    • View Profile
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #35 on: January 18, 2013, 07:50:54 PM »
@ vastOne

Did you see my post #23 in this thread?
I reinstalled VSIDO and ran the test you wanted.  I am getting "root" requirement in both XFCE4 and OB on a fresh install.

Fresh install: XFCE4
Code: [Select]
bash: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/home/sector11/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/home/sector11/bin: No such file or directory
Fresh install: OB
Code: [Select]
bash: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/home/sector11/bin: No such file or directory
here:
Quote
bash: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games:/home/sector11/bin: No such file or directory

something strange with the path in the fresh install on the XFCE4 side of the house!

BINGO!

Look here:
Code: [Select]
/home/sector11/bin/inxi
Looks at the sizes:

Stay Home

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1625
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #36 on: January 18, 2013, 08:04:47 PM »
A shutdown and restart does indeed keep it!  Runs fine for me...
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #37 on: January 18, 2013, 08:16:21 PM »
I did see all posts related to this...

I am getting more and more confused by the minute.

Is it working, is it not working?

@Sector11 ... If you run this

/usr/local/bin/inxi -F

or this in either Xfce or OB

/usr/sbin/inxi -F

it does run fine without root.. It is not a size issue or anything missing... For whatever as yet to be resolved reasons, a full path is needed for it to run
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

falldown

  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2013, 08:34:40 PM »
Ok in xcfe to run inxi I had to sudo it.

VastOne gave this code..
Code: [Select]
export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"
So I followed direction and
Code: [Select]
falldown@VAIO:~$ export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"
falldown@VAIO:~$ inxi
Resuming in non X mode: glxinfo not found. For package install advice run: inxi --recommends
CPU~Dual core Intel Core2 Duo CPU T8100 (-MCP-) clocked at 1200.000 Mhz Kernel~3.7.0-1.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 Up~6 min Mem~362.8/3951.6MB HDD~320.1GB(37.8% used) Procs~127 Client~Shell inxi~1.8.27 

So now sudo is not needed..
Code: [Select]
falldown@VAIO:~$ inxi
Resuming in non X mode: glxinfo not found. For package install advice run: inxi --recommends
CPU~Dual core Intel Core2 Duo CPU T8100 (-MCP-) clocked at 1200.000 Mhz Kernel~3.7.0-1.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 Up~9 min Mem~401.6/3951.6MB HDD~320.1GB(37.8% used) Procs~127 Client~Shell inxi~1.8.27 
and sudo is not needed on restart.

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2013, 08:38:46 PM »
I will add this as a Xfce startup variable to be run one time

Code: [Select]
export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"
Unless someone can solve why it is not running already from the .bashrc variable that is already in place
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

Sector11

  • Posts: 870
    • View Profile
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #40 on: January 18, 2013, 08:49:18 PM »
^^^ OK I see what you mean - this is my default system where a simple "inxi" in a terminal works:
Code: [Select]
sector11 @ sector11
 18 Jan 13 | 17:37:25 ~
         $ /usr/local/bin/inxi -F
bash: /usr/local/bin/inxi: No such file or directory
 sector11 @ sector11
 18 Jan 13 | 17:37:27 ~
         $ /usr/sbin/inxi -F
Error No: 1 - You must be root to run this script!
 sector11 @ sector11
 18 Jan 13 | 17:38:03 ~
         $ inxi -F
System:    Host: sector11 Kernel: 3.7.0-2.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit)
--- and more

When I first got it I saw it was a bash script, I never thought about it twice, I put it in ~/bin where I own it and have never had a problem with it.

That's why it works for me. I kISS'ed it (Keep It Stupidly Simple)

Since VSIDO has a ~/bin installed by default and is in your path on the fresh install I just did, why not put inxi in there and eliminate all problems in the future?
Stay Home

Sector11

  • Posts: 870
    • View Profile
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #41 on: January 18, 2013, 08:55:46 PM »
^ ^ @ VastOne

That fixes XFCE4 but what about OB?
It did not work in either on my Fresh install an hour or so ago.
Stay Home

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #42 on: January 18, 2013, 08:56:09 PM »
Because both /usr/local/bin and /usr/sbin are also in the path by default

I also want to keep it in it's default place so that when there are updates to it there will not be any issues

I have not had any issues with /usr/local/bin which is where I store everything else.  So this is more to do with the syntax in the .bashrc than anything IMO

I just need to look at it closer and figure out what is going on

VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4181
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #43 on: January 18, 2013, 08:59:58 PM »
So far, you are the only one who has said it does not work in OB.

This variable works across both platforms

export PATH="$PATH:/sbin:/bin"

Meaning that when you run it in Xfce it works in OB and vice versa, it is debian specific not WM specific

Can anybody else confirm this, that it is not working in OB?
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

Sector11

  • Posts: 870
    • View Profile
Re: inxi root requirement
« Reply #44 on: January 18, 2013, 09:35:14 PM »
^ I'm going to reboot to the fresh install ... be right back.
Stay Home