Author Topic: replacing repos  (Read 2125 times)

jacques

  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
replacing repos
« on: September 24, 2013, 07:31:06 AM »
Just installed VSIDO,
I see that you are using aptosid repos,I like to replace them with siduction ones,that would break things?

lwfitz

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1774
  • sudo rm -rf /
    • View Profile
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2013, 07:34:40 AM »
Welcome to VSIDO  jacques

Im certainly no expert but I dont see any reason why it would be an issue.
Don't Be A Dick!

Digit

  • Techno Hippie
  • Posts: 296
  • savant (alegedly), polymath (wannabe)
    • View Profile
    • wastedartist.com
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2013, 10:21:38 AM »
while switching repos does carry some risk, i meddle around with that sort of thing a lot, never had a catastrophic breakage yet, and minor breakages are quite rare.   usually, at worst, you can just switch back.   but yeah, should be good to go.

jacques

  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2013, 10:40:35 AM »
so replacing
Code: [Select]
deb http://oscar.aptosid.com/debian/ sid main fix.main
with
Code: [Select]
deb http://packages.siduction.org/base unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://packages.siduction.org/user unstable main contrib non-free


and it`s done? no other tuning required?something like apt preferences or other?

VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 4187
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2013, 11:01:51 AM »
^ That should be good enough

I agree, nothing should blow up once done...
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

sqlpython

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2013, 03:42:08 AM »
@jacques
 Likewise, I use siduction repos .. just fine
Stretch, Siduction-15.1,  Slackware 14.1, LMDE, Calculate 15.7

Digit

  • Techno Hippie
  • Posts: 296
  • savant (alegedly), polymath (wannabe)
    • View Profile
    • wastedartist.com
Re: replacing repos
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2013, 10:43:47 AM »
yeah, when it's sid-like level stuff, to sid-like level stuff, you're unlikely to encounter anything traumatic, without major pebkac.

if you were going from sid to stable, or trying to go over to ubuntu or something, then it'd get messier.

and if you had meddled with pinning... depending on how n what's pinned to what....   could be messy.   but of course, just pull out all the pins and it's all good again.

you CAN just ADD, rather than replace.  i think the typical behaviour, without any pinning in your /etc/apt/preferences, is to just get the newest.

rare it goes wrong like that, mixing different sources.   if it does, n you still want all your different sources, you can usually pin past such woes.