VSIDO Community

VSIDO Support => WM Designs and Discussions => Topic started by: Snap on December 08, 2014, 08:05:35 PM

Title: Fluxbox: Cycle windows all desktops?
Post by: Snap on December 08, 2014, 08:05:35 PM
Is this possible? Something like this.

Code: [Select]
Mod1 Tab :NextWindow {groups} (workspace=[current])
Mod1 Mod4 Tab :NextWindow {groups} (workspace=[all])

The second line obviously doesn't work. (workspace=[all]) is wrong (that's why I'm asking), but you'll get the idea of what I'm after.
Title: Re: Fluxbox: Cycle windows all desktops?
Post by: PackRat on December 08, 2014, 08:46:35 PM
I don't think you can have a command work on all workspaces simultaneously, but I think you can use the workspace number instead of current. Internally fluxbox starts numbering workspaces with 0, but for the user display numbering starts at 1.

If you use the workspace number, you may be able to use the MacroCmd to execute the commands in series - never used MacroCmd for anything other that a command (move, resize, xterm etc ...) though.

the man page for fluxbox-keys may give you some inspiration for what you're attempting.

 
Title: Re: Fluxbox: Cycle windows all desktops?
Post by: Snap on December 09, 2014, 12:05:37 AM
Yep, MacroCmd is what I was considering. Still diving into manuals and howtos to use it (I'm too noob at Fluxbox). Let's see what I can get.

Quote
Internally fluxbox starts numbering workspaces with 0, but for the user display numbering starts at 1.

I wasn't aware of that. Thanks, PackRat. This will avoid some headaches.