VSIDO Community

VSIDO Support => General Support => Topic started by: Gordon on October 08, 2014, 07:06:32 PM

Title: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 08, 2014, 07:06:32 PM
Hi Folks

When I boot my machine up I see a few red FAILED items but they past too fast for me to read. I know that they will be in a log somewhere but where is it please ? This has only started since I upgraded to kernel 3-16-2-amd64. I had to go and buy a new graphics card even to get it to boot up as it said mine was too old, just like me probably  :D
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: statmonkey on October 08, 2014, 07:19:49 PM
There should still be a number of files you can check in the folder /var/log that should give you the information.  These would include syslog, messages, dmesg.  There might be something in user.log and debug as well.  A little hard to understand what your graphics card issue would be, it's strange that a kernel upgrade would obsolete a working graphics card no matter how aged.
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: VastOne on October 08, 2014, 07:46:02 PM
Assuming you are running a current version of VSIDO (from the last year anyway) and systemd is in play you can run

Code: [Select]
systemctl --failed
in terminal and that will outline any and all failures

Welcome back Gordon...
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 09, 2014, 08:19:32 PM
Hi VastOne
Thanks for the reply. ran the command you stated and got this which means now't to me
Code: [Select]
root@VSIDO:/home/gordon# systemctl --failed
  UNIT                         LOAD   ACTIVE SUB    DESCRIPTION
● systemd-modules-load.service loaded failed failed Load Kernel Modules

LOAD   = Reflects whether the unit definition was properly loaded.
ACTIVE = The high-level unit activation state, i.e. generalization of SUB.
SUB    = The low-level unit activation state, values depend on unit type.

1 loaded units listed. Pass --all to see loaded but inactive units, too.
To show all installed unit files use 'systemctl list-unit-files'.
Ran the command above, still means nothing to me, and got the following
Code: [Select]
root@VSIDO:/home/gordon# systemctl list-unit-files
UNIT FILE                                  STATE   
proc-sys-fs-binfmt_misc.automount          static 
dev-hugepages.mount                        static 
dev-mqueue.mount                           static 
proc-sys-fs-binfmt_misc.mount              static 
sys-fs-fuse-connections.mount              static 
sys-kernel-config.mount                    static 
sys-kernel-debug.mount                     static 
tmp.mount                                  disabled
cups.path                                  enabled
systemd-ask-password-console.path          static 
systemd-ask-password-wall.path             static 
session-1.scope                            static 
acpi-fakekey.service                       static 
acpid.service                              disabled
alsa-restore.service                       static 
alsa-state.service                         static 
alsa-store.service                         static 
alsa-utils.service                         masked 
anacron.service                            enabled
atd.service                                enabled
autovt@.service                            disabled
avahi-daemon.service                       enabled
lines 1-23
Are there things that I should have started somewhere along the line ?  ::)

Hi  statmonkey

this is my user log from today but the hole thing seem to repeat itself anyway
Code: [Select]
Oct  9 20:31:27 VSIDO org.gtk.Private.UDisks2VolumeMonitor[1026]: index_parse.c:191: indx_parse(): error opening /home/gordon/images/BDMV/index.bdmv
Oct  9 20:31:27 VSIDO org.gtk.Private.UDisks2VolumeMonitor[1026]: index_parse.c:191: indx_parse(): error opening /home/gordon/documents/BDMV/index.bdmv
Oct  9 20:31:27 VSIDO org.gtk.Private.UDisks2VolumeMonitor[1026]: index_parse.c:191: indx_parse(): error opening /home/gordon/documents/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
Oct  9 20:31:27 VSIDO org.gtk.Private.UDisks2VolumeMonitor[1026]: index_parse.c:191: indx_parse(): error opening /home/gordon/images/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
Oct  9 20:37:54 VSIDO org.freedesktop.secrets[1026]: ** Message: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: No such file or directory
Oct  9 20:37:54 VSIDO org.freedesktop.secrets[1026]: Gkm-Message: using old keyring directory: /home/gordon/.gnome2/keyrings
Oct  9 20:37:54 VSIDO org.freedesktop.secrets[1026]: Gkm-Message: using old keyring directory: /home/gordon/.gnome2/keyrings
again I have no idea what its on about  ::)

The other logs are in the same vane  alas not a clue about any of them except that my printer seem to be mentioned quite a lot. As to my graphics card I don't know why either as it hasn't happened before. It just went as far as the graphics setup and kept telling me my card was no longer supported and would not go any further or let met reinstall the legacy driver that I had before. The odd thing is that I thing the driver that it has install for this card ( geforce gt 740 ) is the same driver I think as the one I was using anyway.
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: VastOne on October 09, 2014, 08:46:43 PM
Gordon... Is this the machine that has a new video card?

Was the old card a nVidia?  Is the new card a nVidia? 

I am thinking that it may be looking for something that was there and is now gone... which may need drivers removed from modules
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: statmonkey on October 10, 2014, 03:03:22 AM
Hmm that driver/card issue makes little sense to me.  I am wondering what the original message was.  I assume you are using the Nvidia drivers?  If so I may as well pass this off to VastOne.  I don't use Nvidia drivers at all and no little to nothing about systemd hands on.  Sorry, I will keep thinking about this and watch the thread. 

The repeating lines in your logs are just the repetitions on each boot up.  One set for each time the system comes up. 

VastOne is probably heading you in the right direction with the hint towards the card that was removed.  I am just concerned that there is something pre-existing (whatever caused it to say your old card was outdated).  Not something I think you should ever see. JMTC
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 14, 2014, 07:51:15 PM
Hi People

Thanks for the replies'

@ VastOne

The old Graphics card was a Realtex ATI RX550 and the new one is a Nvidia geforce GT740

They are / were installed in the same machine

I hope that you can tell me exactly which drivers to remove or  all hell will break loose here if it's left for me to guess which ones are which  :D

@ statmonkey

Thanks for your input even if you can't go any further, it is still way beyond me and my ability  ;D
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 14, 2014, 08:00:42 PM
You will want to remove the ATI graphics drivers; I'm thinking the drivers/modules for that card carried over when the kernel upgraded so, at boot, the kernel is loading the drivers but fails because the hardware is not there. Did you upgrade before changing graphics cards?

Smxi may be able to help you here. You can go into the graphics section directly and see if there is an option to remove your ATI drivers.

I'm assuming you can still log into an X session and the nvidia card is working.
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 14, 2014, 08:04:20 PM
Hi PackRat

Thanks for that. I'll log out now and give it a try and see what happens  :)
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 14, 2014, 08:12:00 PM
Hi PackRat

Just tried smxi but their doesn't seem to be anything in the graphics section to let you remove drivers, I'll have to try something else
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 14, 2014, 08:30:41 PM
How did you install the ATI drivers in the first place?
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 14, 2014, 08:59:41 PM
to be perfectly honest I can't remember it was that long ago but more than likely with smxi
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 14, 2014, 09:58:34 PM
If they're modules, you should be able to remove them.

In a terminal, what is the output of:

Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep ati
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 15, 2014, 05:29:56 PM
hi PackRat

The output is
Code: [Select]
pata_atiixp            12747  0
libata                177457  4 ahci,libahci,ata_generic,pata_atiixp

hope that helps, it means nothing to me. I did find a folder called ati in /usr/src/linux_headers, but that's all I have found
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 15, 2014, 07:55:49 PM
Noting stands out; but I forgot ATI drivers usually have fglrx or radeon in the name - my bad. Try:

Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep fglrx
and

Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep radeon
Did you install proprietary ATI drivers, you can try to locate an uninstall script - maybe in /usr/share/ati
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 15, 2014, 08:21:05 PM
Hi PackRat

Just run both those commands and come up with no results. However a little while back I had a brain  storm for me and tried synaptic package manager and it came up with one installed ati driver so I promptly removed it, as yet I haven't managed to watch a boot up so I'll post again when I have done so and let you know the results. busy cooking for the shop tomorrow at the moment  :)
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 15, 2014, 08:32:39 PM
Hi PackRat

Just done a reboot with the same result three failed , something to do with a kernal load
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 16, 2014, 01:15:36 AM
Something like -

Code: [Select]
[Failed] Failed to Start Load Kernel Modules
I think there is a message right after that with the systemctl command to use to get some details; it might be:

Code: [Select]
systemctl status systemd-modules-load.service
I've seen that one in other forums related to fails at boot.
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 16, 2014, 07:02:56 PM
Hi PackRat

Here are the results of the command you suggested

Code: [Select]
systemctl status systemd-modules-load.service -l
● systemd-modules-load.service - Load Kernel Modules
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/systemd-modules-load.service; static)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Thu 2014-10-16 19:50:20 BST; 6min ago
     Docs: man:systemd-modules-load.service(8)
           man:modules-load.d(5)
  Process: 363 ExecStart=/lib/systemd/systemd-modules-load (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
 Main PID: 363 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd-modules-load[363]: libkmod: ERROR ../libkmod/libkmod-config.c:673 kmod_config_parse: /etc/modprobe.d/fbdev-blacklist.conf line 6: ignoring bad line starting with 'fb'
Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd-modules-load[363]: Failed to insert 'radeon': Invalid argument
Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd-modules-load[363]: Inserted module 'nvidia_current'
Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd[1]: systemd-modules-load.service: main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd[1]: Failed to start Load Kernel Modules.
Oct 16 19:50:20 VSIDO systemd[1]: Unit systemd-modules-load.service entered failed state.

I noticed that it mentioned Radeon, that was the old card and is no longer in use

Any use ?
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 16, 2014, 07:59:09 PM
I am not sure what command (systemctl or rmmod) to use so that your system no longer wants to load a radeon module.

Everything is working on your computer right? Video, sound any other bells and whistles?

Check line 6 of /etc/modprobe.d/fbdev-blacklist.conf - what is it trying to blacklist? Strangely enough, line 6 of mine is to blacklist the radeonfb module.

Maybe one workaround would be to blacklist the radeon module in question so the kernel will skip over it. In /etc/modprobe.d you can create a radeon-blacklist.conf, but I don't know if radeon is the actual name of the module.

Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 16, 2014, 08:45:08 PM
line 6 on my machine simply says fb, just those to letters nothing else
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: jedi on October 16, 2014, 08:57:54 PM
Hello Gordon, sorry your having some issues there.  If, after trying PackRats solutions you are still having troubles, then maybe a different approach might do the trick.  Of course I may end up catching your computer on fire too so make sure you have stuff backed up!

I'm going to try to do this through Grub.  First, you should never ever never mess with this file!  :D  Go to /etc/default/grub.  Open the file named grub, in medit.  (or text editor of your choice)  On or around line #9 you should see EXACTLY this line:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=
It may or may not have some stuff after it in quotation marks.  There may actually be more than one way to do this, but first try adding the following to the part inside the quotation marks;
"quiet nomodeset ATI.modeset=0"
Make sure when you save /etc/default/grub file that you've just edited, that you go into a terminal window and type in sudo update-grub.  (or if your using your wonderful VSIDO distro, just typing UPG will do the same thing.  It is an alias included with your VSIDO install that issues the same command with less typing!)  This will make the changes you just made permanent and on reboot should immediately be active in your Grub at boot up.

Now, if that doesn't work, try changing the 'ATI.modeset=0' part to 'radeon.modeset=0' and so on.  Every time you edit the /etc/default/grub, make sure to remember to update-grub (or UPG).  When your system boots up, if you don't want to actually make these changes to your Grub file, you can try them out first by hitting the letter 'E' when the Grub screen appears.  Scroll down untill you see the above line,  GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT= and make the changes right there on boot.  This will only work for that boot up, and will not save it in Grub.  In other words, you would need to do that every time you booted.  Sometimes I confuse myself when trying to help, so hopefully your not to confused!  Sometimes it is harder to explain something than it actually is to do it!
This is all just basically doing what PackRat has already instructed you on just a different route to getting there!
The line 'ATI.modeset=0' is telling your computer NOT to use the radeon card (since you've removed it) and as long as you've installed the nvidia drivers correctly, hopefully will solve the boot issue.  If it only half-way does the trick, perhaps re-installing the nvidia drivers using smxi would help.
Let us know, and hopefully I haven't confused anyone to badly.   ???
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: PackRat on October 17, 2014, 01:50:32 AM
line 6 on my machine simply says fb, just those to letters nothing else

all the other lines are something like -

Code: [Select]
blacklist arkfb
right? That is proper format for a blacklist file.

change line 6 to:

Code: [Select]
blacklist radeonfb
Title: Re: Boot Up Question
Post by: Gordon on October 17, 2014, 07:55:09 PM
Hi

@ jedi

Tried all those changes that you said no different I'm afraid still comes up failed

@ PackRat

Changed line 6 to blacklist radeonfb as above still comes up failed

Have just reinstalled the nvidia driver using smxi it has also made no difference. Guess at some stage I will have to download the latest ISO and do my usual complete installation again to fix it but that is a bit further down the line as it is basically working.  :)