VSIDO Community

VSIDO Controls => Feedback & Suggestions => Topic started by: xaos52 on March 19, 2013, 01:44:06 PM

Title: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: xaos52 on March 19, 2013, 01:44:06 PM
All my diskspace is under LVM control.
So it was not exactly easy to install VSIDO.
I had to
1/ Install to a USB disk with MBR on the USB disk which worked no problem.
2/ Boot into vsido on USB disk and install lvm2 package
3/ Boot from live grml ( which has lvm support ) and rsync from the USB install to Logical Volume
4/ Boot from USB disk into vsido and chroot into the install on HD to change /etc/fstab
5/ Boot into my regular waldorf install to run update-grub, which picked up both the vsido install on USB and the one on HD
6/ Boot into the VSIDO on HD logical volume.

Hence my suggestion to include the LVM package in the VSIDO ISO.

Cheers
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: VastOne on March 19, 2013, 09:43:09 PM
Hi xaos52, welcome to VSIDO.  We are glad to see you here.

Do you know exactly what the LVM packages are?  Is it only lvm2?

Once I know, I will add them and build a new ISO and have you test it if you do mind.

I appreciate the heads up and the recommendations to users.

Thank you Good Doctor!
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: VastOne on March 19, 2013, 10:41:54 PM
I have installed lvm2 and made it a part of the ISO

I did see these errors from buglist on the install and wonder if it is a concern
Code: [Select]
Parsing Found/Fixed information... Done
serious bugs of lvm2 (-> 2.02.98-1) <unfixed>
 #702163 - lvm2 - thin support not suitable for Wheezy
 #697676 - lvm2: cLVM binary package is missing
Summary:
 lvm2(2 bugs)
Are you sure you want to install/upgrade the above packages? [Y/n/?/...]

The ISO is being tested and then uploaded... It will be done by 7:20 PM CST (1 hour and 35 minutes from now)
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: VastOne on March 20, 2013, 12:40:22 AM
Upload is done
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: xaos52 on March 20, 2013, 10:49:16 AM
Hi VastOne,

Adding lvm2 will be a great help already.
I suspect you will have to adapt the install procedure as well. In case of LVM the system restore should be done to the mounted logical volume.

I did get the same warnings when installing lvm2.
But everything seems to work OK.

I am still in the process of 'finding my way' on this one.

Will let you know my findings when I've installed the new version.

One small annoyance I noticed when running
Code: [Select]
md5sum -c path-to-md5sum gave a message about 'Incorrect format' or something like that.
Adding a second space between the hash and the iso file path solved that. 

Cheers
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: Sector11 on March 20, 2013, 08:53:37 PM
Curious - never heard of LVM before this.

Is it something that will be transparent or can it be deleted once the new version is installed?
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: VastOne on March 20, 2013, 10:28:36 PM
It is transparent and can be removed ...

It is specifically there for people who already have a LVM configuration (think raid, similar) so that they can use it during the install
Title: Re: Include the lvm2 package in the install ISO
Post by: hinto on March 21, 2013, 03:10:54 AM
I haven't found a good use for it (lvm).  Maybe I'm just naive.
-Hinto