VSIDO Community

VSIDO Support => General Support => Topic started by: Neon_Riots on March 16, 2013, 07:34:28 PM

Title: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 16, 2013, 07:34:28 PM
Hi again guys, VSIDO is still running fine for the most part but I'm getting a black screen when trying to access tty1 with ctrl+alt+f1.  Is this not the correct way to access it?  I'm able to go back with the standard ctrl+alt+f7 so I'm a bit confused.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: VastOne on March 16, 2013, 07:40:17 PM
Have you done any changes to your grub resolution since installing?  I have seen issues with tty1-6 when grub resolutions where changed
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 16, 2013, 07:45:39 PM
Ive had this same issue. After you hit ctrl/alt/f1 and the screen goes black try hitting enter. I believe thats what got me to tty, Ill check when I get to my office in a bit.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 16, 2013, 07:57:02 PM
No I did not change the grub resolution, at least not intentionally, and it doesn't appear to have changed either.

I also tried hitting enter after the black screen but it didn't seem to do anything.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: VastOne on March 16, 2013, 08:14:14 PM
Take a look at /etc/inittab

See if it is the same as this

Code: [Select]
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:2:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.
~~:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t1 -a -r now

# Action on special keypress (ALT-UpArrow).
#kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request--edit /etc/inittab to let this work."

# What to do when the power fails/returns.
pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop

# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
# so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
#
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

# Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
#
#T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 9600 vt100
#T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100

# Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
#
#T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3


Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 16, 2013, 08:35:18 PM
Using text compare I didn't find any differences, but here it is.

inittab (http://pastebin.com/AhyJ0G9r)
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 16, 2013, 09:05:04 PM
Oops, actually what got me into tty was hitting ctrl/alt/f1 again after the screen went black. Do you get a flashing cursor or just a solid black?
Also were you ever able to access tty this way?

It sounds to me like what VastOne first thought and that is, that its a resolution issue.

Open a terminal and run

Code: [Select]
sudo sed -i -e 's/#GRUB_TERMINAL/GRUB_TERMINAL/g' /etc/default/grub
Then

Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub
Reboot and tty should work
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 16, 2013, 11:05:24 PM
Alright I ran that, it certainly changed what grub looks like (for the better in my opinion) but I still get a completely black screen if I use ctrl alt f1.  My primary monitor's light blinks after 5 seconds, so it looks like no input is being sent to it.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 16, 2013, 11:22:57 PM
Hmmmm odd. Ok Im running to a job but Ill work on it tonight when I get back
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 17, 2013, 12:59:22 AM
I'm pretty certain I was able to access it before installing nvidia drivers.

I installed my drivers (304.84-1) via:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install nvidia-kernel-dkms nvidia-glx nvidia-xconfig nvidia-settings

Everything else is working just fine with my drivers.  Should I try out 313.26-1?  I'm a little worried about the stability.

Could it be something with the framebuffer?
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 04:07:23 AM
I always install my video drivers whether nvidia or ati using smxi.

If I was you I would try running

Code: [Select]
sudo smxi
and when tell it to kill your desktop.

That will drop you into tty. If that gets you to tty then enter log in info and run

Code: [Select]
sudo smxi
again and try installing the nvidia drivers that way. Just follow the steps until you get to an option to install graphics

and if this is a newer card let it install the beta drivers. Thats what Im using with no problem at all.

If you need help with smxi just ask and heres VastOnes howto

http://vsido.org/index.php/topic,5.0.html (http://vsido.org/index.php/topic,5.0.html)

If smxi doesnt get you to tty let me know and Ill keep  at this for you



To answer your question.....

Yes it very well could have to do with frame buffer. Check this out

http://blog.samat.org/comment/17522 (http://blog.samat.org/comment/17522)

That gives pretty good directions on how to get virtual terminals back and then you can reinstall your graphics driver
using smxi.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 17, 2013, 06:07:44 AM
Hmm, the frame buffer guide didn't help, and smxi just takes me to the black screen after I tell it to kill the desktop.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 06:12:17 AM
Ok let me do some Googling  ;D
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 06:39:38 AM
can you please reboot and boot into recovery mode and see if tty comes up that way. Im pretty sure its nvidia causing it.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 07:00:10 AM
Ok, I think the best thing to do is to purge nvidia then reinstall using smxi.

Run

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia-*
then reboot.

When you boot up that will take you to tty and from there run

Code: [Select]
sudo smxi
and install nvidia nouveau or the proprietary drivers. Like I said before Im running the beta drivers with no issue at all
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 17, 2013, 04:13:29 PM
After reboot I'm greeted with a flashing cursor at the top left but nothing else.

Hitting enter or ctrl alt f1 didn't have any effect.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 06:56:42 PM
And does the grub screen come up?
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 17, 2013, 07:08:54 PM
It came up as just text.

I reinstalled vsido and smxi cannot uninstall the nouveau drivers so it failed to install the drivers.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 07:17:26 PM
Ok good....... now run smxi again. When nouveau is installed smxi will error the first time. This is normal

Sorry this has been such a pain in the ass  :)
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: VastOne on March 17, 2013, 07:19:06 PM
smxi cannot uninstall nouveau on the first time you run it... That is why both smxi and the How To I did says to run smxi video driver install section twice for it to succeed

Run smxi, install kernel (if you are), install nvidia drivers, reboot, start smxi again, go to nvidia driver install and install again, when done, start desktop
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: VastOne on March 17, 2013, 07:20:03 PM
lwfitz beat me to it...

Nice!  :)
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 07:29:47 PM
Ive never had real good luck installing video drivers from the repo's, sometimes it works but at least in my experience more often than not it causes issues.
At least for the time being smxi is the way to go.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 17, 2013, 07:41:58 PM
Yes I can't believe I forgot to do that, I remembered as soon as I had to leave my computer for lunch.  It appears to have installed correctly now and tty1 is working.  I'm going to wait for a little bit before I mark this as solved, just in case I manage to do more stupid things in the mean time.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 17, 2013, 07:47:52 PM
AWESOME! Glad things are looking up!

We only learn by making mistakes.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 12:54:50 AM
One small thing, I was trying to get steam working but it looks like I cannot install ia32-libs-i386 on sid, despite adding i386 multiarch support.  If I use
Code: [Select]
apt-get install libgl1-nvidia-glx:i386
I get a message saying that the nvidia-installer-cleanup wants to run but it just stalls and messes up dpkg.

Is this something I have to live with?  It's not a huge deal, but I can't find any solutions online that work with sid.

The specific steam error (when trying to launch a game) is
Code: [Select]
Could not find required OpenGL entry point 'glGetError'! Either your video card is unsupported, or your OpenGL driver needs to be updated.
EDIT:

Actually now that nvidia-cleanup-installer messed up dpkg I can't even uninstall it or use apt-get in general.  This is great.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 18, 2013, 05:09:32 AM
Whats the error your getting when you try to apt-get?

I dont have steam installed but once we get whatever is broken fixed then we can focus on that.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 05:16:39 AM
Well I managed to get dpkg working again by killing dpkg and the installer.  Now I'm faced with reinstalling my nvidia drivers with smxi.  The problem is smxi reports that I have debian nvidia drivers/installer and refuses to work until I remove them.  Ive done apt-get remove --purge nvidia-* but that did not fix the issue.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 18, 2013, 05:19:41 AM
Hmmmm

Try dropping to tty and run

Code: [Select]
sudo sgfxi
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 05:42:42 AM
It gave me the same error.  Here is my sgfxi.log (http://pastebin.com/Kmd1jzeK)

EDIT: Alright false alarm, for some reason it didn't remove nvidia-installer-cleanup so I did that manually and now the nvidia drivers installed properly.

EDIT2: Attempting to launch steam now gives a fatal error because I'm apparently now missing
Code: [Select]
libGL.so.1
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 18, 2013, 05:58:15 AM
Ok cool!

Im looking for a howto regarding steam on 64bit. I know I saw one recently


Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 06:23:02 AM
I'm just relieved my video drivers are functioning properly again.  I've uninstalled steam completely, so hopefully I will be starting with a fairly clean slate when I figure out/someone tells me the right way to install it.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: lwfitz on March 18, 2013, 06:49:57 AM
SOunds good.

I did find this

http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410/discussions/1/846939071205530634/ (http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410/discussions/1/846939071205530634/)

Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 06:57:13 AM
Yeah I saw that as well, my main hang up is
Code: [Select]
apt-get install libgl1-nvidia-glx:i386
the last couple times I have tried to run this it would claim to install correctly up until it ran the nvidia-installer-cleanup which just stalled indefinitely.  Hence the dpkg problems.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Neon_Riots on March 18, 2013, 11:58:00 PM
Well I'm still getting the same problem when running nvidia-installer-cleanup, and steam refuses to launch due to unmet dependencies.  If any of you guys have gotten it to work please share what voodoo you used.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: jefsview on March 19, 2013, 06:35:05 AM
I hit the same problem with the latest ISO.

I usually install my Nvidia drivers through synaptic first (if I don't, playonlinux will state that it can't find any opengl drivers), and then run SGFXI for the proper ones. But this time out, I lose tty. I had already run smxi and installed the latest Liquorix kernel, so it had to be the Nvidia install. First time this has happened in all of my Debian installs.

I tried to install a different Kernel, this time Siductions, hoping I could then get to a tty, but no-go.
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: jedi on March 19, 2013, 12:40:06 PM
Hey guys, running the latest iso myself, and just updated via dist-upgrade.  Nvidia updated to the 304.84-1 driver.  I haven't had very good luck using smxi to install the Nvidia drivers due to my hybrid-graphics setup, so I let the dist-upgrade do it.  Other than that though, I use smxi to do everything else.  Just checked and I'm able to jump out to tty1-6 no problems.  That said, I'm not doing any game playing or anything and haven't had the occasion to try Steam out yet.
Just wanted to post to let you know that the lastest iso + Nvidia's new driver hasn't complicated anything for me...  (not trying to throw a wrench in the gears or anything)
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: Sector11 on March 19, 2013, 12:43:27 PM
I don't understand this 304.84-1 driver?

smxi installed 313.26 for me:
Code: [Select]
19 Mar 13 | 09:43:01 ~
         $ vid
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0a65
           X.Org: 1.12.4 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 210/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 313.26 Direct Rendering: Yes
 
 19 Mar 13 | 09:43:04 ~
         $
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: jefsview on March 19, 2013, 05:58:55 PM
Yeah, 313 is the latest latest, but the 304 series is like "the stable" branch.

It was just a glitch in the install, I think. It never happened before for me. But the "nvidia-installer-cleanup" has been a pain the backside since Debian introduced it (or segregated it), and is probably the cause. I've had issues with it before, when I was sussing out how to get Playonlinux to work correctly.

I was rushing through the post-install setup, since I wanted to also install the new Manajro Openbox-lite version on another partition so it was probably user-error ;)

Will give it a go on my next day off.

-- Jeff
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: jefsview on March 22, 2013, 02:22:08 AM
On a new install, I used the Nvidia 313.26 drivers from Siduction experimental repos. After some time tracking down dependency issues through synaptic (using the force install for the Siduction/Experimental ones, since the default is 304), it installed. One "Nvidia-Xconfig later, and I was back on screen.

And tty1 works  :o

So it must just be a bug with the 304 series, or pure debian (not certain if Siduction devs tweaked the binaries or not). Anyway, the Siduction experimental Nvidia drivers are a win.

I smxi'd my way into the pure nvidia driver install and all is well.

-- Jeff
Title: Re: Cannot access tty1
Post by: VastOne on March 22, 2013, 05:05:03 PM
Thanks for the update and what you did to get it to work jefsview, well done!  :)