VSIDO Community

VSIDO Community => Introductions => Topic started by: Xtreme on January 24, 2013, 03:53:03 AM

Title: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 24, 2013, 03:53:03 AM
Hi all just finished installing VSIDO.  Only know enough about linux to get myself in trouble so the install time was over an hour :)

Originally downloaded VSIDO Liquorix Kernel 3.7.0-6 but the installer didn't work so switched to VSIDO towo-Siduction Kernel 3.7-1 and everything is working great.

Since I got it installed I'm sure anyone can. Thanks for this distro and keep up the good work!
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: VastOne on January 24, 2013, 03:56:16 AM
Welcome Xtreme to our little slice of the Linux Community!   ;D

Can you elaborate more on what happened with the Liquorix kernel?  Was there any errors, did the installer even start etc..

I apologize for the inconvenience...

Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: lwfitz on January 24, 2013, 03:59:53 AM
Welcome Xtreme, glad your here.

If you are still interested in the latest Liquorix kernel you can install it using SMXI. Theres a nice howto that VastOne wrote in my signature if you need help with SMXI.

Im wondering, you said the installer didnt work, what did it do? Just so we can let VastOne know. Thanks for the help.



Edit:

HAHA great minds think alike  8)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 24, 2013, 04:01:05 AM
No errors, just clicked menu button and nothing happened.  Briefly thought about googling how to invoke the install script through a terminal but then decided to try a different kernel.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: VastOne on January 24, 2013, 04:02:22 AM
OK, thanks...

I will test it tonight to see if I can trace it.

I appreciate you letting us know!
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 24, 2013, 04:04:56 AM
No problem, if there is anything you want me to break, erhmm Test :P just let me know.  Happy to help out.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: lwfitz on January 24, 2013, 04:05:36 AM
Can you please post the output of

Code: [Select]
lspci
I had this happen when I installed on older hardware and eventually the installer did start, just a little slow.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 24, 2013, 04:13:26 AM
Here it is:
Code: [Select]
00:00.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:08.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:09.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:0a.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:0c.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.1 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.2 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:10.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:11.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6105/VT6106S [Rhine-III] (rev 86)
02:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link) [iOHCI-Lynx]
03:00.0 Mass storage controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controller (rev 01)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: lwfitz on January 24, 2013, 04:20:17 AM
Odd, I dont see any reason for that installer to be slow to start. Might have just been a bad download, but if theres an issue with it VastOne will find it  ;D

Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: falldown on January 24, 2013, 04:26:12 AM
Xtreme Welcome to VSIDO!
You will love Linux.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 24, 2013, 02:02:34 PM
Hello Xtreme!

And welcome to the nuthouse, remember to leave your sanity by the door, you'll not need it here :)


Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Sector11 on January 24, 2013, 08:38:41 PM
Welcome to VSIDO Xtreme

Don't worry, the learning curve isn't as steep as you may think.

And when in doubt with a command line call, use a man page to find out what it is:
Code: [Select]
man lspci
and if you are still in doubt, don't hesitate - ask.

(http://t.imgbox.com/acbvSCb3.jpg) (http://imgbox.com/acbvSCb3)

Lots of good info in the VSIDO Wiki as well, check the link at the top of the page.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: jedi on January 24, 2013, 09:08:09 PM
Hello Xtreme!  Welcome to VSIDO!  We'll make sure the learning curve is not too steep.  Once you get started, Linux is an addictive OS...  Great group here in our Community, you'll enjoy...
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: jst_joe on January 25, 2013, 02:44:59 AM
Hi all just finished installing VSIDO.  Only know enough about linux to get myself in trouble so the install time was over an hour :)

Originally downloaded VSIDO Liquorix Kernel 3.7.0-6 but the installer didn't work so switched to VSIDO towo-Siduction Kernel 3.7-1 and everything is working great.

Since I got it installed I'm sure anyone can. Thanks for this distro and keep up the good work!

Welcome Xtreme

You running an AMD box by any chance?
I had the same problem with the Liquorix kernel on a fresh install.
You can run smxi and add the Liquorix now.
If that's what you want.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 25, 2013, 02:51:44 AM
AMD is the best!  :-*


But yeah not much love for our CPU's, there is a small fix though. Its called amd-microcode (or somthing like that) Its almost 4am here, dont expect me to remember much!
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 25, 2013, 03:03:57 AM
Wow thanks for the warm reception :)

Yes I am on an AMD quad core box.  Been a real busy guinea pig today, smxi'd it up and got the newest liquorix kernel today and current nvidia driver, yay!  Have not broke anything yet. fingers crossed

Then I got distracted with conky config :P Going to post a screenshot now.

P.S. whats amd-microcode??? Do i need it?
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: jst_joe on January 25, 2013, 03:05:17 AM
AMD is the best!  :-*


But yeah not much love for our CPU's, there is a small fix though. Its called amd-microcode (or somthing like that) Its almost 4am here, dont expect me to remember much!

Yep amd64-microcode, I also found that adding nolapic_timer to (GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nolapic_timer").
Helped prevent the system freezing randomly until there was mouse or keyboard input.
It just seems (on my box anyway) Liquorix doesn't play nice on a fresh install.
I do love AMD though, best bang for the buck!  :)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: VastOne on January 25, 2013, 03:30:28 AM
What's hilarious about all of this is all I have and use is AMD quad4's and is exactly what I built all of the ISO's on

 ???  :'(
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 25, 2013, 03:38:29 AM
What's hilarious about all of this is all I have and use is AMD quad4's and is exactly what I built all of the ISO's on

 ???  :'(

HAHA, don't worry about it.  More than likely it is just me, I can break anything if left unsupervised :P
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: jst_joe on January 25, 2013, 03:39:19 AM
What's hilarious about all of this is all I have and use is AMD quad4's and is exactly what I built all of the ISO's on

 ???  :'(

I think it's the fact that I have a HighPoint Rocket 620A SATA card in my box also.
If I have a HDD in my backplane drive bay that's connected to that card it tries to boot from there.  ::)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Sector11 on January 25, 2013, 03:41:28 AM
@ VastOne

Trade you an AMD triple core for a quad core.   ;)

CPU:       Triple core AMD Athlon II X3 450 (-MCP-) cache: 1536 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 3214.616 MHz 2: 3214.616 MHz 3: 3214.616 MHz
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 25, 2013, 02:32:16 PM
Never been happier since i dumped intel for AMD


Best CPU so far is my X2 560 BE (which very nicely because its a BE unlocks to a X4 560, and 3.3 OC nicely to 3.6 or 3.9. Best $100 i have ever had :) (in 2009)


And now i am waiting for payday so i can replace it with a  AMD FX-6300 - 3.5 (6 cores, 3.5 GHz)  8)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 25, 2013, 02:34:43 PM
I think it's the fact that I have a HighPoint Rocket 620A SATA card in my box also.
If I have a HDD in my backplane drive bay that's connected to that card it tries to boot from there.  ::)


Thats a bios/bootdevice- issues, i had that ages ago when i had a CF card sitting in the cardreader LMAO  :D
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: jst_joe on January 26, 2013, 01:05:54 AM
I think it's the fact that I have a HighPoint Rocket 620A SATA card in my box also.
If I have a HDD in my backplane drive bay that's connected to that card it tries to boot from there.  ::)


Thats a bios/bootdevice- issues, i had that ages ago when i had a CF card sitting in the cardreader LMAO  :D

Thanks dizzie I'll recheck my bios settings.
As it stands I only use that one bay for data recovery off of other peoples HDDs the other port runs to an eSATA on my front panel.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 26, 2013, 05:55:21 AM
My X2 560 BE is now a X4 560 BE, from 3.3 to 3.6 GHz too, i love my coreunlocker on my mainboard :)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Digit on January 26, 2013, 07:57:26 AM
*bows before Xtreme*

we're not worthy!  we're not worthy!   

;D  hehehehe.

welcome.  :)

(lol @ peeps trying to reasure Xtreme about the learning curve...  do u guys not realise who that is?)  ;)
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Sector11 on January 26, 2013, 03:20:19 PM
Not a clue.
Tell us.
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Digit on January 26, 2013, 07:08:31 PM
lol, i dont rly know either, i'm just presuming it's the same xtreme (http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=5988) as i encouraged all those years ago to make an arch-based crunchbang-alike distro.  ^_^
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: dizzie on January 26, 2013, 07:25:28 PM
no, Willensky aka Will X treme, has left the scene (family, kids, work, etc et) "Mr Green" is the lead dev on "ArchBang"
Title: Re: Guinea Pig checking in :P
Post by: Xtreme on January 27, 2013, 03:04:49 AM
*bows before Xtreme*

we're not worthy!  we're not worthy!   

;D  hehehehe.

welcome.  :)

(lol @ peeps trying to reasure Xtreme about the learning curve...  do u guys not realise who that is?)  ;)

Yeah wrong guy :( but I guess I know how to pick a forum handle :)