new install hangs at bleachbit

john_j

Hi All,

Bit of a noob here, or at best not a power user, and I'm finding that the new version of VSIDO hangs on my old desktop while setting up bleachbit 1.4-1. I'm trying to install it on an old Dell Dimension 3000, celeron processor/1 gig of Ram.

I was able to successfully install a previous version of VSIDO on an ACER ASPIRE with an AMD Semperon 3200+ and 512 meg of RAM.

I'm wondering if it's the new version of bleachbit, the old Dell, or (and this is way above my knowledge level) is systemd quite new and heavy?

I really like VSIDO on these old computer I have. Any ideas or comments are welcome.

Thanks,

John

VastOne

Can you clarify this a bit more John?  Bleachbit is already installed on VSIDO.. are you saying that the installation of VSIDO is failing at some point or that you have installed it and now it is failing during a bleachbit situation...

Thanks
VSIDO      VSIDO Change Blog    

I dev VSIDO

john_j

Thank you for replying,

I said on the install, but it's on the post install and I believe it's updating bleachbit to version 1.4.1 (I think is the version). So, I've rebooted the computer and gone to Synaptic Package Manager and it throws an error and asks me me too dpkg --configure -a, which I've done (np there).

But, it kicks me out of the nice install script you've written before I've selected the options I'd like.

This issue has only come up in the last couple of weeks on VSIDO. I'll see if I can find an old version to try today to see if that happens.

john_j

I'm trying the 2014_JULY_22 version to see if I run into the same issue.

I'm also replicating the install with swap and ext 4 fs. If I have the same issue I'll try without swap and ext 2 fs.

As you can tell I don't know what's causing this, but I've installed and enjoyed VSIDO previously without this issue   :) .

john_j