Watch a folder for changes and perform an action

statmonkey

This is kind of a script/How To but think it fits best here.  Mods can move it if I have misplaced it.  It's another one of my adventures into the obscure.  I have to confess that this looks a little intimidating, it is really not.  I have just tried to be detailed and precise to make it easier.

Recently I have played around with Incron "http://inotify.aiken.cz/?section=incron&page=about&lang=en" the reason being that I was looking for a way to automatically watch a file or folder and take some action.  What I wanted to watch was the folder that my music was in and then run a command or a script to re-index my play list as kind of proof of concept. The problem I ran into was that Incron is not able to handle recursive watching, it can only watch a file or a folder not a tree.  This will explain how I solved my problem and I think opens up a fair amount of possibilities.

A couple of caveats.  I am not a python coder, I am barely a bash scriptwriter.  I have borrowed liberally and tried to credit where I got the ideas and if anyone sees a better way to do this I would love to hear it.  One problem I have not solved is watching multiple folders to run different jobs.  I have a couple of ideas of how to go about it but haven't got that far.  For now this offers a solution to my problem and perhaps someone will find it useful.

Why Would you do this?