Author Topic: i3 (tiling WM)  (Read 12659 times)

dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
i3 (tiling WM)
« on: January 14, 2013, 09:31:46 PM »
Hey guys (girls will follow soon)

Since i am not that much a fan of icons or desktops, i use a tiling wm called i3

Heres a shiny scrot :



It's very dynamic and customizeable, and as you can see i like stuff simple, therefore no "bling"
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 3961
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 09:34:45 PM »
^ Very nice dizzie!

I am thinking of adding i3 as a WM on the next ISO's
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1547
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 11:33:47 PM »
Awesome look dizzie.  Gonna have to try this out...
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 12:07:58 AM »
Awesome look dizzie.  Gonna have to try this out...

If needed i'll share my .i3status.conf (the bottom right thingie) and thank you!
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2013, 08:33:04 AM »
Put this in/as ~/.i3status.conf :


Code: [Select]

general {
#        output_format = "dzen2"
#        colors = true
         interval = 5
}


order += "disk /home"
order += "load"
order += "cpu_usage"
order += "ethernet eth0"
order += "time"


ethernet eth0 {
        # if you use %speed, i3status requires the cap_net_admin capability
        format_up = " E: %ip @ %speed "
        format_down = " E: down "
}


time {
        format = "%d-%m-%Y %H:%M:%S"
}


cpu_usage {
        format = " CPU Usage: %usage "
}


load {
        format = " CPU Load: %5min "
}


disk "/home" {
        format = "Home - Used: %used / Free: %free "
}


Re: time/date = You goody americans gotta change it to month/day/year :)
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2013, 07:56:33 PM »
Some tweaking...  8)

Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


VastOne

  •      v-ger
  • Posts: 3961
    • View Profile
    • VSIDO Community
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2013, 07:59:55 PM »
Nice!

I see you have no issues running inxi (without sudo).  Did you have to adjust anything?
VSIDO      VSIDO Twitter     VSIDO FB     VSIDO Google+   

I dev VSIDO

dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2013, 08:01:16 PM »
Nice!

I see you have no issues running inxi (without sudo).  Did you have to adjust anything?

Not at all, could be a xfce bug (didnt have it it OB either)
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


Digit

  • Techno Hippie
  • Posts: 295
  • savant (alegedly), polymath (wannabe)
    • View Profile
    • wastedartist.com
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2013, 06:52:38 PM »
mmmmmm mmm mmMMMmm!


* rolls around in i3's niceness *

mmm *lick lick*  nice wm!


i3 is an inspiration.  no, literally, it inspires me.  i've taken many cues from it for my "tabular boonad", and still have many more ideas from i3 i'd like to implement yet.

dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2013, 11:42:53 AM »
Update :





Using conky :)


Config here https://www.dropbox.com/s/78i1tpotor6any2/i3config.tar.gz


i use urxvt as terminal, so my .Xdefaults is here http://pastie.org/5896844


- Questions? Let me have 'em  ;)
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1547
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2013, 08:28:22 PM »
Basking in my i3 accomplishment today!  Got a lot figured out last night and am really enjoying the WM!!!  Not "all figured out" mind you, but well on the way!



It's  8)
Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

jedi

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 1547
  • Not all those who wander are lost.
    • View Profile
    • NixNut.com
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2013, 10:17:35 AM »
Another shot from 5:15 am!  No sleep, but sleep is highly overrated.  I'll sleep when I'm dead.  i3 is too fun to sleep!!!  You should all be giving it a try... ;D

Forum Netiquette

"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

dizzie

  • DEFCON 1
  • Posts: 729
  • Bastard Operator From Hell
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2013, 10:50:06 AM »
Yes! new sys is up and running !





6 cores makes a hell of a lot of a difference  8)
Reclaim your culture, it's within your reach!

My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | G+ | VSIDO |


PackRat

  • Posts: 1963
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2013, 03:08:33 AM »
Some more i3 -
Tabbing is so much better than tiling  :)

I am tired of talk that comes to nothing.
-- Chief Joseph

...the sun, the darkness, the winds are all listening to what we have to say.
-- Geronimo

PackRat

  • Posts: 1963
    • View Profile
Re: i3 (tiling WM)
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2013, 03:35:31 AM »
For vastone - well, anyone really.

pretty much stock i3 config file - the documentation on the i3 site is awesome. Some changes to the default keybindings; I use a fluxbox-fvwm baseline for my key bindings to save on my aging memory.

Code: [Select]
# This file has been auto-generated by i3-config-wizard(1).
# It will not be overwritten, so edit it as you like.
#
# Should you change your keyboard layout somewhen, delete
# this file and re-run i3-config-wizard(1).
#

# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!

set $mod Mod4
set $ALT Mod1

default_orientation horizontal
workspace_layout tabbed
new_window 1pixel

# window colours: border background text
client.focused        #0F0F0F #FFA252 #0A0A0A
client.focused_inactive    #0F0F0F #5697B2 #E5E5EE
client.unfocused    #0F0F0F #5697B2 #E5E5EE
client.urgent        #E1696E #E1696E #E5E5EE

# font for window titles. ISO 10646 = Unicode
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
font -xos4-terminus-medium-r-normal-*-12-120-72-72-c-60-iso10646-1
# font pango:Droid Sans Mono, Terminus Regular 10

# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
# floating_modifier $mod
floating_modifier $ALT

exec xrdb -l /home/doug/.Xdefaults
exec xmodmap /home/doug/.Xmodmap
exec xsetroot -mod 1 1 -fg mediumslateblue -bg lightslategray
exec urxvtd -q -f -o
exec update-notifier
exec nm-applet
exec fbsetbg -t -r "$HOME/pixmaps/"

# start a terminal
#bindsym $mod+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal
bindsym $ALT+F1 exec urxvtc

# kill focused window
bindsym $ALT+F4 kill

# start dmenu (a program launcher)
bindsym $ALT+F2 exec dmenu_run -nb rgb:01/01/01 -nf rgb:f6/f6/ff -sf rgb:01/01/01 -sb rgb:00/CD/7B

bindsym XF86HomePage exec firefox
bindsym $mod+F14 exec thunderbird
bindsym $mod+Control+l exec medit
bindsym Menu exec spacefm
bindsym $mod+Control+g exec gimp
bindsym $ALT+F3 exec uxterm -geom 80x24+32+32
bindsym $mod+Shift+F3 exec urxvt -e tmux

bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec "$HOME/bin/volup.sh"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec "$HOME/bin/voldwn.sh"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec "$HOME/bin/volmute.sh"

assign [class="Navigator"] 2
for_window [class="Navigator"] border 1pixel
assign [class="Firefox"] 2
for_window [class="Firefox"] border 1pixel
assign [class="Thunderbird"] 2
for_window [class="Thunderbird"] border 1pixel
assign [class="Gimp"] 3
for_window [class="Gimp"] border normal
assign [class="Gnome-mplayer"] 4
for_window [class="Gnome-mplayer"] floating enable
for_window [class="XFontsel"] floating enable
for_window [title="Event Tester"] floating enable
for_window [class="Gcolor2"] floating enable
for_window [class="UXTerm"] floating enable
for_window [class="UXTerm"] border 1pixel

# change focus
#bindsym $mod+j focus left
#bindsym $mod+k focus down
#bindsym $mod+l focus up
#bindsym $mod+semicolon focus right

bindsym $ALT+Tab focus right
bindsym $ALT+Shift+Tab focus left

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right

# move focused window
#bindsym $mod+Shift+J move left
#bindsym $mod+Shift+K move down
#bindsym $mod+Shift+L move up
#bindsym $mod+Shift+colon move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, default)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+t layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+d layout default

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+p focus parent

# focus the child container
# bindcode $mod+c focus child

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace 1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace 2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace 3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace 4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace 5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace 6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace 7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace 8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace 9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace 10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+exclam move container to workspace 1
bindsym $mod+Shift+at move container to workspace 2
bindsym $mod+Shift+numbersign move container to workspace 3
bindsym $mod+Shift+dollar move container to workspace 4
bindsym $mod+Shift+percent move container to workspace 5
bindsym $mod+Shift+asciicircum move container to workspace 6
bindsym $mod+Shift+ampersand move container to workspace 7
bindsym $mod+Shift+asterisk move container to workspace 8
bindsym $mod+Shift+parenleft move container to workspace 9
bindsym $mod+Shift+parenright move container to workspace 10

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+C reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+q restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+Q exit

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
        # Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
        # Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
        bindsym j resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym k resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym l resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym semicolon resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
        bindsym Right resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Left resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
}

bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
       position top
       workspace_buttons yes
       colors {
          background #0F0F0F
          statusline #E5E5EE
          focused_workspace #FFA252 #FFA252 #0A0A0A
          active_workspace #7FB256 #0F0F0F #E5E5E5
          inactive_workspace #5697B2 #5697B2 #E5E5E5
          urgent_workspace #E1696E #E16963 #E5E5E5
              }
       status_command /home/doug/bin/conky_i3bar.sh
#      status_command conky
}

the script for conky; colorized using JSON - also documented on i3 site; many thanks to #! BBQer jkeg for this one:

Code: [Select]
################################################
# Pass colors to i3 status bar conky with JSON #
################################################
 
## Create a script in ~/bin and name it conky_i3bar.sh. 
 
#!/bin/sh
 
# Send the header so that i3bar knows we want to use JSON:
echo '{ "version": 1 }'
 
# Begin the endless array.
echo '['
 
# We send an empty first array of blocks to make the loop simpler:
echo '[],'
 
# Now send blocks with information forever:
exec conky -c /home/doug/.i3/.conkyrc

and the .conkyrc

Code: [Select]
out_to_x no
own_window no
out_to_console yes
background no
max_text_width 0
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
short_units yes
cpu_avg_samples 4
use_spacer none

TEXT
# JSON for i3bar
 
 [

{ "full_text" : "  Up: ${uptime_short}  " , "color" : "\#E5E5EE" },
 
        { "full_text" : "  CPU: ${cpu}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${cpu}>33}"\#FF2828"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  CORE0: ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore0.sh}°C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore0.sh}>=80}"\#FF2828"${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore0.sh}>=50}"\#FAFA10"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif}${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  CORE1: ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore1.sh}°C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore1.sh}>=80}"\#FF2828"${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 /home/doug/conky/TCore1.sh}>=50}"\#FAFA10"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif}${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  RAM  ${memperc}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${memperc}>20}"\#FF2828"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif} } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  WLAN:  ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}% " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}<50}"\#FF2828"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif} },

{ "full_text" : "  U:  ${upspeedf wlan0} " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${upspeedf wlan0}<=500}"\#E5E5EE"${else}"\#00EEEE"${endif} },

{ "full_text" : "  D:  ${downspeedf wlan0} " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${downspeedf wlan0}<=500}"\#E5E5EE"${else}"\#00EEEE"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  BATT:  ${battery_percent BAT0}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<=15}"\#FF2828"${else}${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<=33}"\#FAFA10"${else}"\#E5E5EE"${endif}${endif} } ,

{ "full_text" : "  ${time %a %e %b  %k:%M}  " , "color" : "\#E5E5EE" }

],

a non-colored conky that doesn't require the JSON formatting works just fine.

The TCore0.sh for CPU temp - based on output from lm-sensors:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
sensors | awk '/Core 0/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'
I am tired of talk that comes to nothing.
-- Chief Joseph

...the sun, the darkness, the winds are all listening to what we have to say.
-- Geronimo